Thursday, November 9, 2017

Sergio Troncoso Award for Best Work of First Fiction

Please help me spread the word. At the Texas Institute of Letters, I have permanently endowed the Sergio Troncoso Award for Best Work of First Fiction ($1,000).

The Troncoso Award will be given to a first novel or short-story collection by an author from Texas or writing about Texas. The publication date of the work must be in 2017. The deadline for submission is January 2, 2018.

Here are the basic rules for all TIL awards: Each year the Texas Institute of Letters awards more than $20,000 to recognize outstanding literary works in several categories. Eligibility for the awards requires that the author be born in Texas or have lived in Texas for at least two consecutive years at some time. A work whose subject matter substantially concerns Texas is also eligible.

2017 TIL Contests:

Jesse H. Jones Award for Best Work of Fiction
Sergio Troncoso Award for Best Work of First Fiction
Carr P. Collins Award for Best Book of Non-Fiction
Ramirez Award for Most Significant Scholarly Book
Helen C. Smith Memorial Award for Best Book of Poetry
John A. Robertson Award for First Book Of Poetry
Edwin “Bud” Shrake Award for Short Nonfiction
Kay Cattarulla Award for Best Short Story
H-E-B/Jean Flynn Best Children’s Book
H-E-B Best Young Adults Book
Denton Record-Chronicle Best Children’s Picture Book
Soeurette Diehl Fraser Award for Best Translation of a Book
Fred Whitehead Award for Best Design of a Trade Book

Texas Institute of Letters:

Thank you.
Sergio Troncoso