Tuesday, December 4, 2018

Texas Institute of Letters: Literary Contests

The Texas Institute of Letters literary contests are now open with prizes totaling more than $22,000. Deadline is January 15, 2019.

Twelve categories:
  • Jesse H. Jones Award for Fiction
  • Carr P. Collins Award for Nonfiction
  • Sergio Troncoso Award for Best Work of First Fiction
  • Ramirez Scholarly Book Award
  • Helen C. Smith Award for Poetry
  • John A. Robertson Award For Best First Book Of Poetry
  • Edwin "Bud" Shrake Award for Short Nonfiction
  • Kay Cattarulla Short Story Award
  • Fred Whitehead Award for Design of a Trade Book
  • Jean Flynn Best Middle-Grade Book Award
  • Texas Institute of Letters Best Young Adult Book Award
  • Texas Institute of Letters Best Children's Picture Book Award

Eligibility for the awards requires that the author be born in Texas or have lived in Texas for at least five consecutive years at some time. A work whose subject matter substantially concerns Texas is also eligible. Download the PDF below to fill out form for contest entry and to send work to judges.

Thursday, April 5, 2018

San Antonio, April 7, 2018

I'll be in San Antonio this weekend (4/6-4/7) for the Texas Institute of Letters' annual meeting and the San Antonio Book Festival. See you there!

SATURDAY APRIL 7, 9-10:30 am
Breakfast / New Member Readings
@ The Menger Hotel Ballroom. TIL Secretary Sergio Troncoso will be our emcee and he’ll also recognize the winners of our children’s book awards.

SATURDAY APRIL 7, 11:15 AM-12:15 PM
San Antonio Book Festival, Latino Collection Resource Center (in Central Library, 600 Soledad), Sergio Troncoso, Moderator, for Texas Institute of Letters: New Member Readings, with Daniel Chacón, Sasha Pimentel, José Antonio Rodríguez.